CRANKY, IT’S TIME TO EAT! WASH YOUR HANDS AND SIT DOWN!

 img_1873.jpg
Dinner on the Warrior Diet. Tonight it’s a spinach and romaine salad, asparagus slathered in butter, baked chicken breast stuffed with feta cheese and sundried tomatoes and followed up with a nice hunk of cranky’s potato bread, ok maybe two. Cranky didn’t actually make this bread, he supplied the recipe. He makes too much of a mess when I let him help. My recipe is a tad different than his because I use clean, strained lard as it’s natural, unlike shortening. Instead of sugar I use rapadura which has quite a bit less processing than white sugar. And of course local, raw honey is the honey I use. Unfortunately I’m out of raw butter at the moment or I would have used that.

My bread is vertically challenged compared to cranky’s as I was not patient enough to wait as long as I should for it to rise. What? I was hungry, ok?
Dinner is the part the Warrior Diet that is considered the “overeating phase”.

The “Overeating Phase” at night maximizes the Parasympathetic Nervous System’s (PNS) recuperation effect on the body, thereby promoting calming down, relaxation, digestion and the utilization of nutrients for repair and growth. This feeding cycle stimulates the production of cellular factors such as Cyclic AMP or GMP, which stimulate hormone synthesis and fat burning during the day, as well as protein synthesis and growth during the night, respectively.

Uh huh, alrighty then. All I know is I’m supposed to eat a lot.  I’m still feeling really good and still have absolutely no sugar cravings at all and have had no sugar, soda or caffeine since I started this journey. Aside from all that good stuff, I realized I’m coming up on that time of the month and my skin is completely clear. It’s glowing. Of course the glowing could be from the coconut oil I like to put all over my face, but I’ll save that tip for another day.

What are you doing cranky? EAT!

20 Comments

  1. I had carro bean soup and corn bread. Thanks for the recipe.

    Yes. I have a job. *sob*

  2. How much work is this diet? Where did you learn about it?

    Eating a bigger meal at night seems like precisely the wrong thing to do, but if it’s working for you, hey.

  3. It’s actually not a lot of work, especially during the day because I’m not making a ton of meals all day.

    In the morning I’ll have a protein shake with blueberries, strawberries, raspberries (I really need to not use the raspberries because I flippin hate the seeds)and a banana. And then I sweeten it with raw honey. Supplements I blend in are coral calcium (easily absorbed by the body) and bovine gelatin(good for joints).

    Then I might have a handful of raw nuts. The raw nuts mix I got from my local health food store was about $14 a lbs. so I went to the grocery store and got pecans and walnuts (which are generally not roasted) and then raw almonds and made my own mixture at about a 1/3 of the cost.

    Later I might have a hard boiled egg with a little sea salt sprinkled on and then I have my veggie juice. The veggies in it are pictured in my first post.

    Then dinner with a glass of wine. I’m not a wine drinker, but I’m trying to be and have enjoyed BV cabernet. It’s ok to have that. *sigh* beer is not.

    I’m serious when I tell you I am rarely hungry and am not uncomfortable or grouchy at all. The reasoning behind this is that my body is satisfied.

    Modern humans tend to eat and eat and eat because our bodies are not getting the nutrients they need. This “diet” fixes that..

    As for a higher meal at night being the wrong thing to do, it’s a myth even if you’re of the calorie counting mentality. The problem with eating in the evenings is generally this:

    Many diets tell you not to eat after a certain time in the evening. They say the body will store more fat because it is not burned off with any activity.

    A study at the Dunn Nutrition Centre in Cambridge suggests otherwise.

    Volunteers were placed in a whole body calorimeter, which measures calories burned and stored.

    They were fed with a large lunch and small evening meal for one test period, then a small lunch and large evening meal during a second test period.

    The results revealed the large meal eaten late at night did not make the body store more fat.

    It’s not when you eat that’s important, but the total amount you consume in a 24-hour period.

    Lyndel Costain adds: ‘It is true that people who skip meals during the day, then eat loads in the evening are more likely to be overweight than those who eat regularly throughout the day.

    ‘This may be because eating regular meals helps people regulate their appetite and overall food intake.’

    And this:

    “I think it dates back to when people started taking an interest in diets People are more likely to eat fatty snacks at night when they are watching television. In order to try to avoid that, they put restrictions on when they should eat.

    “Certainly, if you need to eat after 6pm or 8pm it is probably healthier to sit down and have a meal. Otherwise, you risk grazing on fatty foods.”

  4. Oh and I learned about it because my dad downloaded it to my computer while I was in Acapulco. I’ve since ordered it and am waiting anxiously for it to arrive in part because I have nothing better to do and because it’s a hassle to read online.

  5. Interesting.

  6. Looks good, PJM and I’m not even hungry.

  7. Don’t forget to re-post the raw milk post that some hacker deleted, okay?

  8. Aw, you’re so sweet for taking an interest PA.

    I’m actually working on it right now. I’m trying to make sure all my sources are verified and not just diet nazi’s making claims to back their cause.

  9. That looks really good. I want to know if you had to give up caffeine and if so did you have severe withdrawal headaches?

  10. I did give up caffeine, but that was a personal choice it’s not a requirement.

    However, he suggests using heavy cream and for sweeteners I recommend either stevia or rapadura.

    I’m gonna have to say for coffee, rapadura would taste the best.

    Now normally when I go off sugar, I am an evil witch. I kid you not, my huband runs in terror when I say I’m going to try and kick my sugar habit. I have had no problem on this program. No headaches, no irritability, nothing and I have had absolutely no sugar, not even rapadura this entire time until I had 3 tbs. total of rapadura used to make two loaves of bread.

  11. Oh, and I forgot to say that I love that plate.

  12. Ha! 50 cents at Wal-mart.

  13. I ate a steak for dinner.

  14. I can have steak you goobhead.

    Where ya been? Has her bigger middle toe annoyed you yet?

  15. We can always tell when mesa has a new girlfriend. We don’t see him out and about much. Wonder what he’s doing?

    And I won’t believe the steak unless he posts a picture on his blog.

  16. I can haz stake?

  17. *smacks wiserbud upside the head*

  18. PJ, wiser forgot to change his ID and posted at Hostages as lolPJMomma. He’s losing it :)

  19. hahaha, I accidentally posted here as Kerry Marie and Heidi Klum

  20. HAY! i GOT STUCK IN TEH BATHTUB,DON’T TELL NOIONE KTHANKS!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

