You Want A Pool? Dig It Yourself!

My husband is a pool designer. The kids see him doing pool designs and notice he gets them for other people all the time, just not them.

Madeleine couldn’t handle it any more and asked me, “Mom, can’t we just ask someone else to get us a pool?” No honey, we’ll get a pool when we’re ready, mommy doesn’t want to have one just yet, Gavin is still too little.

Graham asked if they could just dig their own pool. You’re all over it son, have fun.

img_2042_1.jpg

Got a phone call from Graham’s friend’s mom yesterday. Her son has lice and Graham had just been over there. Our neighbors had it twice and now this friend, so far we’ve avoided it. Now I know why. Lice likes clean hair.

It is a myth that head lice like dirty heads – in fact, there is evidence that lice (like parents!) actually prefer clean hair. And contrary to popular belief, you don’t get lice from poor people any more than you get them from rich people. An infestation does not indicate poor hygiene, and is nothing to be ashamed of. Unfortunately, routine bathing and shampooing will neither prevent nor eliminate head lice problems.

19 Comments

  1. That looks like a big old mess. I guess I have passed the days that this would look fun.

  2. It was not fun for me, it was a huge mess. It kept them busy and outside in the sun for two full days with relatively little fighting and that’s what made it worth it to me.

  3. I can’t believe you let them do that to your back yard!

  4. hey! this scene looks somewhat familiar. I once paid alot of money for a mud bath at an exclusive spa. Maybe what kicked the price up was the apple and glass of water they threw in for free !!!

  5. Maybe what kicked the price up was the apple and glass of water they threw in for free !!!

    That’s right mom. We You paid good money to get us into that spa.

  6. LOL, I don’t know about the rest of you but that’s what my yard always looked like when my kids were that age. The back yard is for kids and who gives a hoot about the looks. I have a gabillion pics of my kids livin’ the good life in the back yard and they still talk about the fun they had in the back while at the same time laughing about the heinous crime it was to touch Mom’s front yard.
    You’re one of the best pajama momma.. keep it up!

  7. I can’t believe you let them do that to your back yard!

    Actually I can!…..and I think it’s great!! Sometimes I wish I could be more like my sister and just let my kids be kids. Gettin’ dirty, building stuff, cooking fun science experiments in the kitchen…you go Super MOM!

    By the way you should find that power line worker that chastised you for asking how long the power would be off because “I have kids on computers!” (she said it in the nicest joking voice) -his reply, “what happened to the day when kids played outside?”

    I can appreciate PJM’s composure and self control to hold her tongue because he definitely has NO clue the type of Mom she is!

  8. That’s right mom. We You paid good money to get us into that spa.

    What the Hell?? I would’ve gone had I known Mom was paying!

  9. It is a myth that head lice like dirty heads – in fact, there is evidence that lice (like parents!) actually prefer clean hair. And contrary to popular belief, you don’t get lice from poor people any more than you get them from rich people. An infestation does not indicate poor hygiene, and is nothing to be ashamed of.

    Does this apply to crabs? -just curious, that’s all.

  10. Does this apply to crabs?

    No. Crabs indicate a poor choice of sex partner, and you SHOULD be ashamed…

  11. Kare-kareFare-fare why do you have to have such a long name.? I hate typing.
    I wanted you to go to the spa for myself not my money!

  12. Mom? It’s like 10 o’clock at night. What are you doing up so late?

  13. I came across your journal from the WordPress dashboard. I have a picture to share from a mud party my sister, some friends, and I had back in maybe 1984-5. Sadly, I’m not in the picture as I was being asinine and camera shy, but here are three small dweebs who have been amusing themselves of a summer afternoon by digging and filling a large mud puddle and rolling around in it.

    (click for larger view)
    We called our mud pit a “Mud Mooshel” for whatever reason small children decide to do anything. Inscrutable whimsy most likely.

  14. I have a dog that I could send over to help. All you would need to do is sprinkle a few rocks around the area you wanted dug up. He would dig you a nice pool. Of course, it would take a while because he would have to stop and bark at each rock as he dug it up. I never said he was a smart dog.

  15. We called our mud pit a “Mud Mooshel” for whatever reason small children decide to do anything. Inscrutable whimsy most likely.

    Oh that is flippin cute. Thanks for sharing! Your backyard reminds me of the area I grew up in fun, fun. Growing up we had about a half acre and I remember sometimes after a rain the weeds would get up over my head before dad could get to them. (had to say that before my mom come on and argue with me) and we would call those weeds, “The Giants” Mom, I’m gonna go out and see the giants. Not near as clever as Mud Mooshel though.

    Of course, it would take a while because he would have to stop and bark at each rock as he dug it up.

    Ha! I love that! We had a dog “help” the kids too. The kids would wiggle roots to get the dog to attack them in the hopes that he would pull them out for them. Apparently it works. I think every kid needs at minimum one really cool dog while growing up.

  16. They say you can have a clean house or let your kids have a full, fun childhood, but not both.

  17. Does that mean I don’t have to clean the toilet?

  18. What a great memory your kids and dog made for each other. I bet that 30 years from now they’ll tell the story of their ‘pool’ at Thanksgiving and Christmas.

  19. Damn sockpuppets.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

