Oh I Am Sooo Not Happy With WordPress’ New Dashboard

What the eff?

I liked it the way it was. Was this supposed to be an improvement? Oh this redesign is the Windows Vista of the blog world. I do not like that my videos do not show up on the post and that you have to click on a link to see them.  Not cool. 

 When I click on the dashboard everything is a jumbled mess, it’s visual vomit. I do not like that when I click on manage posts there’s no “edit this post” button. Isn’t that what manage means? I’m certain there’s more stuff that will irritate me. I just haven’t gotten to them yet.  grrrrrrrrrrrrrr

[UPDATE]

Ok, now that I know I can embed videos still, I’m happy, well happier. It’s still visual vomit to me.

[UPDATE] I’m fully aware that WordPress is free. I’d also like to thank WordPress for allowing me to have this post up so that we can air our grievances about the changes wordpress has made. Just because it’s free does not mean I cannot have an opinion. :) Having said that, WordPress is still better than other blogging programs like “Blogger”

Anyone know where spellcheck is?

78 Comments

  1. Yah! How dare they give us free Internet Blogging capability and hosting and then go and make changes!

  2. How dare they give us free Internet Blogging capability and hosting and then go and make changes!

    Exactly, effing bastages.

    Funny thing is I was going to pay to upgrade. I’m not glad I did not.

    On a serious note however, it’s still visual vomit and I think I should be able to have an opinion on it.

    And you know what else? You can’t edit comments anymore, that’s going to spoil a lot of fun at The Hostages.

  3. Yah! How dare they give us free Internet Blogging capability and hosting and then go and make changes!

    What fun is it if you can’t complain?

  4. It’s hard to navigate, too. Sheesh. It’s also ugly.

    What fun is it if you can’t complain?

    Exactly. Isn’t that why blogs were created?

    How do you embed videos? I’ve never been able to do that. And I’ve read the entire stinking about page and FAQ page to try it, too. Not to mention the forums, which, oy.

  5. I dont’ know how to do all of ’em, but I know if you want to post a youtube video you have to go to youtube and copy and paste where it says “embed video” and then paste it into the html part of your posts.

    And I agree it’s hard to navigate. blech wah cry whine sob

  6. Oh boo hoo, I can’t post crappy Englebert Humpherbuttwithmydink covers…

    Waaah!

  7. I have no idea what any of this post means. What I know about computers could fit in a thimble.

  8. Hi MCPO! Any luck finding some good vodka? :) This post was about wordpress’ new blog editing schtuff

    *kicks abbadon in the shins

  9. This is directed at Prudie. Are you per chance Prudence Bozczuk from Bound Brook, N.J. If so please contact me, Christine Cunningham (formerly Pelligrino). I live in Warrenton, MO now. I’m listed in the phone book. If anyone out there knows a Prudence from Bound Brook, N.J. I’d really like to get in touch with her. Please? Thank you.

  10. Christine – are you perchance Richie Cunningham’s hawt cousin from Milwaukee, Wisconsin? if so, call me.

    ;o)>

  11. *kicks abbadon in the shins

    OW! And why do I sense another one is coming???

  12. Please put the DELETE POST button anywhere except next to the SAVE button. That doesn’t make sense! This new format is not helpful in any way. Please restore it to the way it was. Thanks.

    MA Siegel

  13. AARRRGHHHH! IT SUCKS. I’m so frustrated right now, trying to edit a draft from awhile back… I’m about to give up and call it a night. And totally with you on the visual vomit. It was SO much better before.

    BOO HISS.

  14. @pajama Moma: TO EDIT COMMENTS, Click on comments name.

  15. Christine, Sorry. I’m not your Prudence. I’ve never been north of St Louis.

    PJ, I’ve done that. It doesn’t work for me. Wah.

    mommypie, To edit a draft, go to: Manage -> Posts -> and then under the heading “Manage Posts” below the tabs, click on Drafts. You should get a list of your drafts. They made editing drafts about four steps longer than it used to be.

    *kicks Abbadon in the shins* That felt good.

  16. I hate the new design. In fact, when I first logged in I assumed wordpress was having technical difficulties and the dashboard was being run on a commodore 64 until the main server could get back up.

  17. *kicks Abbadon in the shins* That felt good.

    I knew it…

  18. I didn’t like the changes as well last night, but after sleeping on it, I think the new dashboard will work out fine. It has some bugs, but what doesn’t? They fixed the image insertion last night so that pictures go into the post rather than a separate link. I also changed the color though, can’t stand the weird colors they chose. If you click on your name at the top right, you have a choice to return to the ‘Classic Blue’ color.

    Writing a post is the same, it’s just the tabs are in different places. The old ‘Post Slug’ is now ‘Edit’ directly to the right of the permalink below your title. You can edit the old ‘Time Stamp’ by clicking the ‘Publish’ tab and the drop down time opens.

  19. I am not particularly liking this new WP format either, although its one less click to get to a few functions.

    But I can still edit comments just fine. The good ol’ ‘edit’ word is still there next to the date and time just like it always was.

    I’ll wait to see if it “grows” on me before I ask WP for my money back. No, wait …

  20. I agree. The new design is inferior to the old one.

  21. Wait until you try to manage images. I like a lot of the changes but the image handling is awful.

  22. It’s a dog’s breakfast. Images are loading at all. Posts are vanishing.

    And there are no announcements. I can never understand why service providers don’t ell people what is happening before everyone’s blood pressure goes up.

    And as for it being free – you miss the point of 2.0 . We are making them famous. Being free in a monetary sense isn’t an excuse to unreliable or arrogant.

    In my case I was using this to blog about events in Zimbabwe. We get people into the habit of using wordpress (which benefits wordpress) and then just as the country is being help up at gunpoint, wordpress withdraws reliable service. I am not saying they times this to inconvenience Zimbabweans. I am sayin unreliability matters. And now I have been made unreliable.

    I am so disappointed. Not to mention almost in tears with what is happening at home.

  23. I don’t think it’s THAT bad, but it’s definitely going to take some getting used to.

  24. In my case I was using this to blog about events in Zimbabwe. We get people into the habit of using wordpress (which benefits wordpress) and then just as the country is being help up at gunpoint, wordpress withdraws reliable service. I am not saying they times this to inconvenience Zimbabweans. I am sayin unreliability matters. And now I have been made unreliable.

    Ranting and raving about WP unreliability adversely affecting your ability to alert the rest of the world to the problems facing Zimbabweans and then not leaving your blog’s URL seems somehow…unreliable.

  25. Anyone kicks me in the shins again and I’ll knock theirr ass out…

  26. *kicks Abbadon in the shins

    *runs like hell

  27. Hi, I respectfully disagree. The dashboard, together with the many improvements (Widgets, for example) might take some getting used to, but is highly functional. WordPress.com is a terrific free of charge haven for self-expression, and I am hard pressed to find much to complain about. And I’m the curmudgeon.
    Anyway, I like your blog!

  28. I appreciate your opinion mudge. :)

    And you are correct as someone mentioned on a different blog, wordpress beats blogger and typepad hands down.

    So I have to think positive happy thoughts.

  29. So I have to think positive happy thoughts.

    Let us all know how that plan works out for ya, babe.

  30. anyone having problem with spell checker that one does not work for me anymore after changes….

  31. Comment by MCPO Airdale on April 5, 2008 12:14 am
    I have no idea what any of this post means. What I know about computers could fit in a thimble.

    Comment by pajama momma on April 5, 2008 12:31 am
    Hi MCPO! Any luck finding some good vodka? :) This post was about wordpress’ new blog editing schtuff

    *kicks abbadon in the shins

    I now need more vodka than will fit in a thimble… but wouldn’t recommend to anyone that they look at the new dashboard after drinking vodka…. at least not without a bucket handy.

    And, sorry abbadon, if you’re going to put your shins out there when soooo many people are looking for something to kick……

    *kicks abbadon in the shins

    Apparantly Arnica is good for bruises.

  32. Dammit… I did it again. Posted before logging in. &£$%#@ !
    I is Tom, sorry.

    *kicks abbadon in the shins (just for luck)

  33. Funny, I like the new dashboard! Well, I hated it for a little while, when I couldn’t get the image uploader to work, but after I figured out how to fix that, it didn’t take long before I loved the new version.

  34. HAHAHAHAHAHA! See Abbadon? I think people people are aiming for your shins. It’s prolly good luck like rubbing a Buddha belly.

  35. Rub THIS, babe.

    Just make sure the vodka you drink isn’t Absolut, Tom. They’re trying to give my state to Mexico.

  36. That’s the whole reason I brought up vodka abbadon. DOY! :P

  37. @ abbadon

    Cheers. My point exactly. If you are logged in to wordpress, your address should come up by itself. There is certainly no place to insert it.

    Why BTW would you expect anyone to be reliable when they are waiiting for loved ones to be bludgeoned to death? We aren’t all out here to score points.

    I hope you have a good weekend.

  38. Why BTW would you expect anyone to be reliable when they are waiiting for loved ones to be bludgeoned to death? We aren’t all out here to score points.

    I”m so, so sorry about your situation. It makes my stomach churn. I can’t even imagine the torture you’re going through, not to mention what your family is going through. You are in my thoughts and prayers. My heart aches for you.

  39. Yeah me too. When I first saw it, I thought my page didn’t load properly. So I refreshed it. LOL. Then I realized that they downgraded it….LOL.

    idiots. if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it……

    Iranian Ajax

  40. “If PJ momma ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy!”

    *kicks Abbadon in the shin*

    Hopefully, the repeatedly kicking of Abbadon’s shins will put a smile on her face!

    As for the vodka, I poured out half a bottle of Absolut. I’ll drink the rest of my Jameson (made also by Pernod-Richard), then switch to Grey Goose and Old Bushmill.

  41. Awh, no one reads mine anyway, so it doesn’t make if difference if I can’t spell check.

    Dr. Tom Bibey

    drtombibey.wordpress.com

  42. Sorry Dr. Tom, did you say something? ;-)

  43. The spell check thingie isn’t working for me either. And neither is the image insertion thingie. I think it’s because I’m on IE.

    Poor Abbadon. Bloody shins and future Mexican overlords. Just not your weekend, huh pal?

  44. I totally agree with you. Blogging was much easier before and what I would like to know is what happened to all the photos I had uploaded before? They are no longer in my gallery. And what gives with the smaller font size? Now I have to go back and change everything. If it’s not broken, why fix it?

  45. I guess it just takes time to get used to the new “layout”…. but again I’m not a big fan of the orange…. I want my soothing blue back….

  46. Why BTW would you expect anyone to be reliable when they are waiiting for loved ones to be bludgeoned to death? We aren’t all out here to score points.

    I’m sensing some distinct melodramatic overtones here, Scotchcart. You could always insert your blog’s URL into the text of your comment. If I thought my loved ones were in imminent danger of being bludgeoned to death, I wouldn’t be sitting in front of a computer pissing and moaning about the relative merits or lack thereof of the new WordPress design.

    Hopefully, the repeatedly kicking of Abbadon’s shins will put a smile on her face!

    I’m sure it will. She’s a sadist.

  47. Bleh, I signed on today and my exact reaction was, “WTF is this shit?” It really sucks—it’s so disorganized and unappealing and GAH!

  48. It’s not just ugly (although you can change the dashboard colors back to the original ugly colors under “edit profile”), there are real problems here. It seems other Mac users like me cannot get uploaded images to load into the posts- the screen just freezes and nothing happens. And I’ve read a few posts that say it’s faster, but not on my Mac, and I’ve got a Macbook Pro running the newest software.

    I am not a happy camper. :(

  49. … And I thought I was the only one miseralbe since last night. What gives WordPress?

    It started when I was adding a text widget. It just won’t work. The widget got empty when I saved or disappeared altogether. I tried all sorts of things but just won’t work.

    Then later today, I can’t even link within my post. Arghh!

    To think that last week, I was putting terrific good words why I decided to move all my blogs in one WordPress basket…

    Help pls!!!!! I still trust that things will normalize, that we can have back the functions of better times. It’s been a not-so-good weekend. More arghhh!

  50. My goodness. Are we all smarter than the WordPress folks? The same folks who have provided this blogging platform for free, and will likely work their tails off to keep the community happy?

    Price: Free.

    Functions: Pretty darn good.

    Transition to new dashboard. Bumpy.

    That’s software for you. Bugs. Hell. Hard work. Even when you’re selling it for good money.

    If you think these past few days are tough on bloggers (who upload pics and write riffs/rants), imagine being in WordPress support or writing the code. That’s got to be less than fun.

  51. I know I’m going to be in the minority here, but I really liked it when I saw it.

    Then again, I’m not exactly normal…

  52. Looks like the K-5 crowd has found your blog, PJM. I didn’t know they were computer literate at such an early age these days…

  53. Also adjusting to the WP upgrade.

    I’m thinking I was just used to the other version and being aversious to change, I hate it.

    But I’ll love it in a few days once it becomes more familiarish.

    p.s. I make up words.

  54. p.s. I make up words.
    Well I eat paste and crayons. :)

    I’m hoping I’ll get used to it as well. Until then I’ll be lying in fetal position at the bottom of my closet.

  55. It’ll be nice when you can customize the dashboard, i.e., get rid of all the extraneous stuff they threw in. Until then I’ll just grit my teeth and continue resenting them.

    Many people have defended the upgrade because of added capability and improved performance. But those could have been added without changing the interface so dramatically or sloppily.

    When I get to the dashboard, I’d like to see 3 things: stats, my comments, and manage. Those three features make up about 98% of my use. And reducing the dashboard page to 3 items would make it much easier to find what I need quickly and without scrolling.

  56. I know, I’m having to learn two sights, again!

  57. I have to say, I agree with you. I’m not a fan of the new layout. I just moved my typepad blog over here, years worth, and I’ve paid for LJ for years. So I’m a huge fan of paying for what I get. I’d gladly financially support wordpress, but right now I don’t need any of their upgrades. Still, I was thinking of how I could use them, so I could support them. So people who have a long history (since 2001, long in blogging terms) of paying money for space are unhappy with it, too.

  58. You know what I don’t like about the “improvements”? They took the spell checker out!! GRRR (or maybe I’m blind and I can’t see it…)

  59. *sigh
    I must be blind too.

  60. <Just because it’s free does not mean I cannot have an opinion. :)

    Kind of like the YooEssOfAye.

    We are free to talk about what a horrible tyrannical p[iece of shit system of government we have. We are also free to wear tinfoil hats…

    mKAY??

  61. What the hee haw heck are you talking about Abbadon?

  62. Hello! I am frustrated– BEFORE, I could write a post and then click on the little tree icon to upload a photo. It would let me BROWSE on my computer and copy the URL to upload to my post. Does anyone know what happened to the browse capability? PJ Mommy, do you have any left over paste and crayons to munch on?

  63. What the hee haw heck are you talking about Abbadon?

    JAYSUS, do I have to draw you a map???

    mKAY?!! Geddit? Kay? In Maine? American Flag Lapel Pin Post???

    Tinfoil hat brigade??

  64. Hey, Kathleen, you’re way too cute to be frustrated.

    Get the FUCK away from my shin, PJM!

  65. I for one like the new admin UI and i instantly updated my website to 2.5 to get it, you just need time to get used to it. I do respect your right to disagree. BTW you can change the color scheme of the admin panel from your profile page, maybe you’ll like it better if you change it

  66. It’s not so much the color as the clutter that bothers me. I see you’re a tech guy so perhaps this is a great change for you.

    For someone like me whoever who is ignorant and likes to blather incessantly about the inane, this change is hard to take.

    ps. since you are a tech guy, can you tell all of us who don’t know where the spell check button is?
    PLEASE?!?!?!?!?!?!

  67. Well, the spell check button has been removed, but you can contact the support and ask to have it back. If enough people ask for it they’ll bring it back. It’s a simple fix in the TinyMCE settings. I don’t use the spell checker before, i rely firefox’s built in spell checker, way better and faster. You should try it.
    Anywayz, the people at WP are already talking about wordpress 2.5.1 & 2.6, so i thinks fixes will be included to give you ability to change the layout like in iGoogle. At least that’s what i think the admin UI is heading. FYI the new version we are using is wordpress 2.5
    The spell checker works fine on my website(no hosted with WP)

    http://boren.nu/archives/2008/04/04/new-admin-ui-on-wordpresscom-251-and-26/

  68. I have no idea why you keep getting sent to the spam box.

  69. maybe because i added a link in my reply

  70. ok, that’s just stupid

  71. I have no idea why you keep getting sent to the spam box.

    Because all this tech bullshit is more boring than spam?

    Just a guess…

  72. I’m a huge fan of the new dashboard! I love it actually. It was weird at first, especially since I was so used to the old one. Once you get used to it I bet you’ll like it too.

  73. I actually feel the same way (namely, I have lost a number of the functions I enjoyed) but I do kind of assume I’ll find them soon.

    I’ve been putting off using the new visual-editor to post and have opted to stick to Ecto this week – I hated the old visual editor, and I know they say this one is better, but I’m scared of disappointment

  74. Oh, are we done bitching about free shit?

  75. Not if I can think of anything new to cry about.

  76. Hello my friends :)
    ;)

  77. I am still trying to figure out how to post a picture on my posts for this blog!!!! And PJM is of no help!!!!!!!

    KKFF where are you when I need you???????

  78. Hellfire, I am trying to figure that out, too– HOW TO POST A PICTURE ON MY POST. I was so proud that I could do it with the old virgin, I mean old version.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

