My Shameless Brag Post-Madeleine The Fashion Designer (sshhhh, don’t tell the other kids about this post, k? they’re special in their own way. really)

My daughter Madeleine is in kindergarten and I’m not gonna lie, she has a talent for art. She did not get this talent from me as I have none, the only thing she got from me was free storage in my womb for nine months.

She gets it from her dad’s side. This is her aunt, this is her great aunt. Did I mention I have no talent? I just want to be clear.

Madeleine designed this dress free-hand yesterday. She’s decided we need to go to Paris right now so she can meet the fashion models there and make a gajillion dollars. Maybe I should have thought twice about that Barbie Fashion Show for PC game I got her?

I told her maybe when she gets a little older she can do that to earn money, but not yet. We’d have to find someone to make the dress and that costs a lot of money and mommy can’t afford that right now.

“What can I do to make money then? Can I have a lemonade stand?”

It’s too cold right now to have a lemonade stand. Do you wanna try selling hot chocolate?

“No mom, how bout oatmeal? That’s nice and warm”

I think we’ll just stick to drawing pictures.

Here’s her free-hand Spongebob and Mr. Crabs

as an aside, I always get a little nervous to compliment too much, because I think that’s what happened to 3/4 of the people who audition for american idol. their moms told them how great they were, instead of saying honey, you know those people that walk behind the horses at parades and sweep up their shit? that might be a more suitable goal for you.

 

42 Comments

  1. She has already exceeded my art skills. My view on encouragement, BTW, is that there’s plenty of time to break their spirits in Middle School: K-5 should be all encouragement.

  2. Pfffffffffffffffffft!! Ditto what Geoff said. Encourage the child!! She has a goal in KINDERGARTEN whereas most 21 year olds STILL don’t have one!

  3. PS: And she’s friggin ADORABLE.

  4. Holly is a babe!

  5. there’s plenty of time to break their spirits in Middle School

    Brilliant idea geoff! Best time to take ’em down a peg? When they’re all zitty and awkward.

  6. PS: And she’s friggin ADORABLE.

    sure hooligans, thanks………remind me that not only do I have no artistic talent, but that my daughter who doesn’t look like me in any way shape or form is adorable.

    *waves a big fat hi to hooligans!
    Hi cornelia, how are ya sweetie?
    *totally obscure reference to charlie and the chocolate factory

  7. Oh come on-you must have SOME talent…you created her right? *blatant ass kiss*
    You have a daughter named Holly too? What a greeeeeeeeat name….

  8. I am quite impressed by her artwork. You could see if the local library will display artwork of a child and show them some of her stuff. If yes, that would make her beam. ‘Cuz you know, um, everyone knows that Spongebob portraits will one day be as famous as the Mona Lisa.

    Pfffttt, and why can’t Mommy go get some scrap materials and sew her that dress??!!!

  9. You have a daughter named Holly too?

    Well a sister in law, but huh……whatever could you possibly mean by saying that? hhhhhmmmmmm :P

    Pfffttt, and why can’t Mommy go get some scrap materials and sew her that dress?
    Because I”m scared. Have you seen how many colors and patterns are in that dress?

  10. One thing about that dress really stands out:

    It’s amazingly symmetrical.

  11. Another thing that really stands out about that dress:

    It looks like Joseph’s Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat.

    She’s cute! Don’t break her spirit yet. Wait until puberty. You’ll have a much easier time of it then. (like you said, zits and hormones will help you out.) Less work for you; huddled degraded teenage girl. Win win all around. ;-)

  12. As a former teacher and a fellow artistic person…that began in kindergarten, I must say that your daughter is quite talented for her age. You don’t need to put her on a pedestal, but encourage her nonetheless. Show her her aunts work. If they live close, maybe they could give her lessons?
    By the time she hits puberty, she will be phenomenal. Once the gawkiness of that stage hits, it will be good for her to have something to feel ‘good’ about.

  13. Here’s an idea, have her do her own fashion show with paperdolls she makes herself. I loved paperdolls as a kid. (geek alert – I collect vintage – 90+ yr old – ones as an adult)

  14. Looks like she’s been hangin’ out with Africans and Wizards again…maybe African Wizards.

    All joking aside, she sure is talented and the dress is very nice. I agree with porknbean. She should seek out lessons and should be encouraged. Hobbies are priceless, especially if they can also function as a business.

    I’d save all of her artwork.

  15. It’s amazingly symmetrical.
    Abbadon, that’s what I thought was crazy too. Very detailed. Detail tires me.

    It looks like Joseph’s Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat.
    Ha! Did you ever see that play Prudie? It kicked bootie.

    Here’s an idea, have her do her own fashion show with paperdolls she makes herself.
    That’s a good idea actually. I used to looove paper dolls myself.

    Looks like she’s been hangin’ out with Africans and Wizards again…maybe African Wizards.

    Who are you and how do you know what I do on my weekends? Huh? Well I’ll tell you this, the African Wizard is not doing such a hot job. Has my hair grown back yet? huh? How bout my weight, have I lost it all yet? hhhhmmmm? That’s what I thought.

    So um, if you know of any competent African wizards………call me?

  16. I love that play! ANd the movie they made from it… well, Donnie Osmond was hot in it. (bunk) Ahem.

  17. Detail tires me.

    As you’ve seen from my latest post, some of us absolutely get off on detail…

  18. Hey “M” you’re a dork…your horns are coming in nicely. :)

  19. and yes….I decree the talent did NOT come from our side.

  20. Seriously? That is excellent art. No bullstein.

    Madliellennlinein, don’t let your momma hold you back from a successful career in the art world.

    HEY!! What happened to my leg??!!?

    AAAAAAAAARRRRRRRHGGGGGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!

  21. Lol, I was referring to the dress design :)

  22. Hey “M” you’re a dork…

    Eat me…

  23. You must have some talent!!! You’re able to distract us with you blog, and lord knows I have better things to do, but this is always a great way to procrastinate!!!

    I think you should go bargin hunting for frames with matts in them, so you can start hanging her work someplace special, and not just on the fridge where some little one with a magical marker can get to it. Maybe I can help ya with that.

    Bragging is fun isn’t it????

  24. All seriousness aside, I would not encourage this. Artists are known hippies and libertines.

    I dated an artist once, she was an “exotic dancer”. Her art form paid well but, she was never around in the evenings!

  25. woops did it again with the stupid italic thing!!!! Oh Well, looks nicer in italic anyhow!

  26. Wow, symetrical and detailed is right. That’s way past my 6 year old! Definitely save her artwork, you’ll love seeing it later (when she’s famous). Heehee
    Actually PJ, I thought she DOES look like you. Hmmmm…

  27. Okay, 1. She’s beautiful. 2. She’s super talented. 3. If she wants to make some extra money come on over and read my post today for a few ideers. Gah.

  28. I dated an artist once, she was an “exotic dancer”. Her art form paid well but, she was never around in the evenings!

    Ha! I tried convincing my husband that “exotic dancing” is an art form but he didn’t buy it. I guess I will have to get money the hard way….stealing from my step-kids.

  29. Kare-kare – Sounds like a plan!

  30. Ha! I tried convincing my husband that “exotic dancing” is an art form but he didn’t buy it.

    That’s because you were horizontal at the time…

  31. Artists are known hippies and libertines.

    I don’t know. When I’m in my ‘artist’ mode/mood/mojo, I’m more of a hermit. Performance artists and drama freaks are more hippy. Couldn’t stand them when I went to art school and I can’t stand them now. Or the groupies.

  32. porknbean – I couldn’t help but notice that you didn’t address the libertine portion of my statement.

  33. You know, the Pope would look good in that.

  34. “We’d have to find someone to make the dress and that costs a lot of money and mommy can’t afford that right now.”

    I bet if you got her 101 dalmation skins, Cruella De Ville would totally make that dress for free.

  35. porknbean – I couldn’t help but notice that you didn’t address the libertine portion of my statement.

    libertine – a person unrestrained by convention or morality: one leading a dissolute life

    While I march to the beat of my own drummer, I lead a very conservative life. I know quite a few ‘normal’ folks with extraordinary artistic talent.
    I don’t need to pull trains or medicate myself or quit taking baths to appreciate or express the beauty and art that is the natural world or the wonders men create (appliances, ziploc bags).
    *short season is coming, time to shave the legs. later. heh.*

  36. I don’t need to pull trains or medicate myself or quit taking baths to appreciate or express the beauty and art that is the natural world or the wonders men create (appliances, ziploc bags).

    How do you feel about a good, loud screw in the kitchen on the stove top?

  37. How do you feel about a good, loud screw in the kitchen on the stove top?

    A little WD-40 will silence those noisy screws.

  38. A little WD-40 will silence those noisy screws.

    It will also get crayon off the walls…..

  39. I wonder what other kinds of stains it will remove?

    Maybe we should ask Monica…

  40. I wonder what other kinds of stains it will remove? Maybe we should ask Monica…

    If the girl wasn’t bright enough to get ~ you know what ~ out of her dress…. She’d probably think WD-40 was a personal lubricant.

  41. If the girl wasn’t bright enough to get ~ you know what ~ out of her dress

    No, I don’t know what. Could you spell it out for me?

  42. […] bad thing about this is that the breakfast nook was supposed to be where Madeleine  does her art because I don’t care about how much paint gets on that table, but […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

