Painkillers And Turtlegirls

Graham: Mom can I have another granola bar?

Me: Only if you do a duet with the turtle girl.

Graham: Who’s the turtle girl?

Me: The one that lives down the street.

Graham: Mom, what do you mean? There’s no turtle girl. What’s a duet? Can I have a granola bar please?

Poor Graham told me I was getting irritated that he didn’t know who the turtlegirl was. What? I was still in bed asleep when he asked me for the granola bar. And, just to clarify, had taken painkillers the night before.

29 Comments

  1. Wheeeeeeee! Drugs are FUN!

  2. What, I mean WHO DOESN’T know who the turtle girl is?

    -Sheesh.

  3. Gotta run, I’m having breakfast with Hugh Hewitt.

    seriously? or is that some sort of joke that’s over my head?

    PJM,

    Semi-serious. Yes, I know him. We go to the same church. He even knows me. Yes, I had breakfast with him. He spoke at our church’s quarterly men’s breakfast. Not surprisingly, turnout was about 4 times higher than normal.

    I told him I hadn’t seen him commenting here lately. He had no idea that Jack M. et al were pulling that gag. Took it pretty well.

  4. Awww, the turtle girl. I dated her Mom when I was stationed at Mayport.

  5. very interesting XBradTC

  6. What, I mean WHO DOESN’T know who the turtle girl is?
    That’s what I say.

  7. “Sunshine, lollipops and rainbows,
    Everything that’s wonderful is what I feel when we’re together,
    Brighter than a lucky penny,
    When you’re near the rain cloud disappears, dear,
    And I feel so fine just to know that you are mine.”

    – Lesley Gore (turtle girl)

  8. Don’t you wanna sing Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds instead?

  9. PJ – I didn’t want to overdo the Beatles thing.

    BTW: check your email.

  10. yes please check your email

  11. I already checked it for you, pjm. What’s an Inflatable Pleasure Turtle?

  12. Drugs?

  13. McGoo – The safe word is, “FAIL!”

  14. Not inflatable? Oh.

  15. Steamboat- why you gotta tell everyone my secret?

    BiW? I prefer to call them painkillers.

    *ignores MCPO

  16. Oh, hell. I thought it was spam!?!

    How’s the aches and pains?

  17. Getting so much better thank you. Just waiting for the swelling and the drain to go bye bye. Only take pain killers at night now to help me sleep, but other than that, nuffin. Course I don’t walk or move around or anything, but at least I’m not bed ridden anymore.

  18. Good deal. you’re healing fast, sounds like. The docs are very, very good nowadays.

    If you are on opiates for pain, I assume you’ve been advised to *ahem* keep the pipes loose.

  19. I assume you’ve been advised to *ahem* keep the pipes loose.

    does that mean eat a lot of fiber? hahaha, if so, yes, I”ve been living on oranges and fresh fruits and veggies since I got out to stay clean. ;)

    I was on oxycodone, but I was all paranoid I’d get addicted so after I finished it I asked for motrin, but they told me no for some reason. Said they didnt’ want me to have that yet. So they gave me hydrocodone instead.

  20. I think you gave him the perfect answer to his question. All children who ask their mother for food while she is still asleep deserve abstract answers. :)

  21. Thank you CHTeri! :)

    Graham’s been making fun of me for it all weekend.

  22. Abstract? i don’t know – tutle girl sounded pretty specific to me

    Or maybe I’m just in a pajama state of mind – bliss

  23. Fine! It’s actually a codeword for a pajama party at dadshouse.

  24. My mother told me one time that I could get Mayo at of her purse for lunch money. I have never let her forget it.
    Sorry to tell you PJM this weekend is only the beginning of the fun. From here on out you will be talked about at all kinds of get togethers that Graham feels the story is worth a great laugh… and just think it will be all about you. Kinda like when you fell in the lake when swing broke; now that is a great story.

    Love ya!

  25. When’s the Inflatable Pleasure Turtle giveaway?

    My friend wants to know.

  26. My friend wants to know.

    uh huh.

  27. “There’s a moon over Bourbon Street tonight
    I see faces as they pass beneath the pale lamplight
    I’ve no choice but to follow that call
    The bright lights, the people, and the moon and all
    I pray everyday to be strong
    For I know what I do must be wrong
    Oh you’ll never see my shade or hear the sound of my feet
    While there’s a moon over Bourbon Street”

    – The Dream of the Blue Turtles

  28. oh now I like that song

  29. Kinda like when you fell in the lake when swing broke; now that is a great story.
    Oh you just love that don’t you?


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

