Summer Bruschetta

I love bruschetta (pron. brus’ket’ta in English, /bɾu’sketta/ in Italian) in the summertime. It’s a light, simple dish and it kicks a#$ with a glass of wine.

click picture to make it bigger

The ingredients are listed below the fold however, I did mine a little differently. I used a beefsteak tomato (seeded) because that’s what I had around the house. I used basil instead of oregano because I love basil. I also added garlic because I don’t understand why anyone would ever prepare a dish, unless it was dessert, without garlic.

I also used an Italian baguette and regular goat cheese. I would have loved to have had “goat cheese with fine herbs”, but I’m lucky there was even plain ole goat cheese at my local grocery store. Oh yeah, one more thing, there was fresh ground pepper in the mix, but I added a touch more to the top along with some fresh grated parmesan after I was done putting the tomato mixture on.

I brushed olive oil on both sides of my bread and broiled it before spreading on the goat cheese. They were really, really good.

Ingredients

1/2 cup chopped seeded plum tomato
2 teaspoons chopped fresh oregano
2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 cup (2 ounces) goat cheese with fine herbs, divided
8 (1/2-inch-thick) slices diagonally cut French bread baguette, toasted

Preparation

1. Combine first 6 ingredients in a medium bowl, tossing gently. Let stand 15 minutes.2. Spread 1 1/2 teaspoons goat cheese on each bread slice. Using a slotted spoon, arrange 1 tablespoon tomato mixture over cheese. Serve immediately.

Yield

4 servings (serving size: 2 bruschetta) I used smaller bread so I had more than 2 bruschetta

Nutritional Information

CALORIES 119; FAT 6g (sat 3g,mono 3g,poly 1g); CHOLESTEROL 7mg; CALCIUM 41mg; CARBOHYDRATE 12g; SODIUM 240mg; PROTEIN 5g; FIBER 1g; IRON 1mg

11 Comments

  1. YUMMY!!! Bruschetta is my all time favorite next to Caprese Salad…which is the same thing minus the bread…and using fresh mozzarella instead of goat cheese. Oh…and balsamic vinegar over the whole thing…other than that- EXACTLY THE SAME…lol..

    Drooling over your pics.

  2. Yum — Gonna have to try that one. Like Hooligans, Caprese is one of my FAVES — basil, buffalo mozzarella and tomato. It’s 11:53 and now I’m HUNGRY …

  3. We had this dish for the first time when we traveled to Italy. They used basil. Also, didn’t get it with cheese.
    Can’t wait until my tomatos on the vine, start to ripen. Yummm.

  4. SLOBBER… you know what would be good with that? Basil herbed vinegar. Just a sprinkle… I’m a big fan of snail mail gifts. Send me a mailing address and you’ll get some to your door! Email’s on profile…

    Off to look at your recipe tags now!

  5. This is one of our favorite snacks. Sometimes I add a bowl of fruit salad and just call it dinner.

  6. Why oh why does all the stuff that looks good, (and that looks yummy, especially on a hot summer day like today), end up being stuff I hate. I won’t touch tomatoes, and goat cheese…..no thanks.

    Hmm, I wonder if I could get away with the italian toast, herbs, mozzarella and olive oil?

    Nope? Didn’t think so.

  7. Heh. I always pronounced it as “brooshetta”.

    Looks very nummy, though.

  8. hooligans- hah, yeah, just like my bruschetta is just like the recipe I posted only not.

    mommypie- that’s is! you and hooligans have convinced me. if you’re hungry in the future just scroll down to the wooden frog post and think of the first mental image you had from that photo and voila! appetite gone

    porknbean- oh you have a garden? I’d love to have a garden. cept that would require me to get off my fat ass, um can I have some of your tomatoes?

    bookmamma- you make that vinegar yourself don’t you? Oh I’m so there!

    ilinap- yep, we made it dinner too. wish I’d thought of the fruit bowl. checked your site, you’re gorgeous!

    auds- no tomato? how do you handle it? can you do pizza? garlic and tomato are pretty much my staple

    mussy- I used to say it the same way. encarta says you can pronounce it the way you do, but any restaurant I worked at says it the other way and all the chicks on food network do too

  9. That looks fantastic! I’m a bit of a foodie and dig pictures of food.

  10. A bit of a foodie? Holy cow, you’re awesome. I’m so showing your blog to my sister, she’s a better foodie than I am, but I’m trying.

  11. Okay, so a ‘bit of a foodie’ may have been an understatement. I’m not a pro at it or anything but I do some food writing and picture taking. Let’s face it. Food is GOOD.

    I found your blog through MommyPie (which, honestly, makes me feel a bit dirty to type).

    Down with used air.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

