The Littlest Health Guru

As most of you know, my family has ALWAYS been fascinated with alternative medicine and holistic health.We were quite poor and in the hopes of avoiding a costly doctor’s appt, my mom got the book, “back to eden”. This book is stuffed full of herbal medicinal recipes.

While I was choking down the slippery elm bark/golden seal/myrrh gum concoctions in the hopes of avoiding a penicillin shot to the butt, the neighbor girl was bragging about the bubble gum, or cherry, or grape flavored medicine she had and I invariably wound up nursing a sore buttock.

Somehow, when I got all growed up, I continued to have an interest in holistic health. I don’t put my kids thru the same concoctions, but when I lived in Florida, I was fortunate enough to find a pediatrician that was also a holistic health practitioner. She prescribed pharmaceuticals as a last resort.

Anyhoo, my dad has always been more into the holistic scene than my mother and has recently started a new kick. Now that we’re back in California and living with my parents I don’t have access to that kind of doctor with my HMO, I do, however, get to enjoy the benefits of my dad’s countless hours on the ‘net researching which stuff is best.

He and I were discussing various supplements yesterday and where we could acquire them when Gavin, my 3 year old decided to add to the discussion:

Gavin: You need to go to the doctor for those.

me: Oh you do?

Gavin: Yes, I read about it years ago.

gavin fair1

gavin at the home and garden show at the san diego county fair

14 Comments

  1. The young Padawan has an old soul. . . and many midicholians.

  2. thanks for the courtesy comment mcpo. :)

    *googles midicholians

  3. In ur tummezz.

    Readin thru ur navelz.

  4. Also, hi. I’ve seen you post on AoS from time to time.

    I actually came to your blog, though, from InnocentBystanders. I went there because I wanted to see his updated unemployment graph. And then I started nosing around on his blog. And found a post bringing me here, promising cleavage.

    Blog did not deliver.

    Yet I still post, because despite the fact that I love my job, and love my paycheck, I’ve had one of the most unmotivational afternoons in quite some time.

    Keep up the good work, PJM!

    • HAHAHAHAHA!

      Any and all cleavage coupons given out at IB will not be honored. They don’t pay me enough.

  5. PJM – Did you find the answer??

    • I did, but I’m not gonna tell you cuz I don’t want you to know.

  6. Yeah, PJM, you’re back!

    Gavin, you little smarty pants. I have a child that is much smarter than me, is Gavin the same (I know he’s smarter than me, is he smarter than you)?

  7. How nice. A post every six months whether you have something to say or not.

  8. oh listen to you b-rad. When I’m not homeless anymore, I’ll have my mojo back. I just KNOW it!!

    speaking of that, we’re moving into a house next week

    *totally ignores b-rad’s insult

  9. I wonder if we end up getting a “public option” when it comes to health care if we might also move towards a more holistic/alternative treatment approach. Better to take care of yourself beforehand than having the doctors taking care of you after the fact.

  10. too funny

  11. Good blog and good topic. I like pictures.

  12. Worst blog ever.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment