Why Soy Is Bad For You

It makes me wonder what we’re doing to our kids when we feed them anything processed. (don’t get me wrong, I’m not afraid to say you want some mac-n-cheese with that chocolate bar?) It’s almost a certainty that if you eat any processed food, you’re eating soy. If you eat a piece of bread, you’re eating soy (usually soybean oil, or soy flour). The vegetable oil you cook with? Soy. It’s no longer corn oil. Even if you have glass of pasteurized milk, the cow that gave that milk was most likely fed soy.

Have you ever wondered about soy?  It’s promoted as the miracle food that will feed the world while at the same time prevent and cure all manner of diseases.

But what if all you’ve read about soy is nothing but a multi-million dollar marketing strategy based on scanty facts, half-truths and lies?

Most people remain unaware that soy is known to contain an array of potent chemical toxins. The modern manufacturing processes of high-profit industries make no effort to remove these potent toxins. High levels of phytic acid, trypsin inhibitors, toxic lysinoalanine and highly carcinogenic nitrosamines are all present in soy products.

Phytoestrogens that disrupt endocrine function and are potent antithyroid agents are present in vast quantities in soy, including the potentially devastating isoflavone Genistein. Infants exclusively fed soy-based formula have 13,000 to 22,000 times more estrogen compounds in their blood than babies fed milk-based formula, the estrogenic equivalent of at least five birth control pills per day. Premature development of girls has been linked to the use of soy formula, as has the underdevelopment of males. Infant soy formula has been linked to autoimmune thyroid disease.

Soy is linked to infertility, breast cancer, hypothyroidism, thyroid cancer, and many other disorders.

“Imagine drugs that are known, by years of scientific documentation, to be both carcinogenic and to also cause DNA and chromosome damage being prescribed and administered through the food supply to populations of many countries around the world without the knowledge or consent of the individuals consuming these foods … with no way to track dosage, individual reactions, or harmful side-effects … and without any concern for some people’s increased vulnerability to these drugs, such as cancer patients.  It sounds crazy, but that is exactly what is happening around the world when Soy is added to our food supply. Soy contains the scientifically documented carcinogenic and DNA damaging and chromosome damaging natural chemicals genistein and daidzein.” True Health, the magazine of Carotec Inc., Naples, Florida.  May/June 2004.

“(Soyfoods) are not nutrients. They are drugs.”

How could anyone get away with this?

The answer is simple, given the soy industry is one of the world’s most wealthy and powerful multi-billion dollar industries.

“Despite an impressive array of scientific evidence that soy is not a fit food for man nor beast, the soy marketing mastodon has marched through the American market like Sherman through Georgia – and likely doing about as much damage as Sherman’s Union Army did.  In our opinion the widespread use of non-fermented soy is part of the chronic disease problem since soy is known to wreak havoc with the human thyroid and other hormone systems.”  True Health, the magazine of Carotec Inc., Naples, Florida.  May/June 2004.

The result is an industry that will systematically steamroll anybody that dares suggest there may be problems with the darling soy.  When we first questioned the safety of soy, a representative of Protein Technologies told us that they had:

“…teams of lawyers to crush dissenters, could buy scientists to give evidence, owned television channels and newspapers, could divert medical schools and could even influence governments…”

This boast has proven all too true, and you’ll be shocked to learn that much of what you’ve read about soy is nothing but a con.

Are all Soy Beans bad?

Soybeans are widely known to contain a gamut of natural toxins – and it makes no difference whether they are organic, “Round-Up Ready”, or in any number of modern products (see our GUIDANCE page).

The trouble with modern soy products is that fast industrial processing does not equate to historical methods of fermenting “for two summers” or boiling “for the length of an incense”. The method of modern get-rich-quick corporations is simply to leave these well-known natural toxins in our products.

“Among the Hawaii “study’s” conclusions: that tofu accelerates brain weight loss in aging users, that the more soy you use the more it impacts your mental abilities, that soy acts like a drug, not a food.” True Health, the magazine of Carotec Inc., Naples, Florida.  May/June 2004.

Isn’t it scary that this is in all our food? Hey it feeds the masses right? So don’t ask, just consume. For the heck of it, the next time you go to the grocery store check out the percentage of soy foods you put in your cart. It’s mind numbing. Remember, even the meat you put in your cart has to be labeled grass fed only (not just free range, it must say grass fed) or it was most likely fed soy.

39 Comments

  1. Keep yer paws off my atsu age, bitch-san!

  2. atsu age

    Eat it!

  3. 1. Sooner or later, anything will kill you.

    2. If the ten years you save are the ones where you are sitting on in a wheelchair drooling on yourself, was it worth it to not have the sour cream baked potato and the steak?

  4. Are you kidding me? I love sour cream on my baked potatos, nummy.
    And chocolate and even mac n cheese. My point is the amount of processed food we eat.

    *opens a TV dinner*

  5. Why do I start my day reading YOUR blog? *sigh*
    Oops, my coffee needs more Coffeemate -gotta go

  6. Which color M&M’s should I NOT eat?

  7. Make sure you eat the green ones *wink* *wink*

    What are you doing up? We got our truck stolen last night. :(
    This is going to suck.

  8. A few years ago a friend kept trying to get me to get into taking some soy protein powder. I use whey instead, ’cause it tastes better AND supposedly encourages proper intestinal flora.

    I’m glad I stayed away from the soy stuff.

    BTW -Nice Blog, Lady PJMomma.

    This is my first time here. Sorry about your stolen truck… that does suck.

  9. I’m glad I stayed away from the soy stuff.

    I’m glad you did too. Soy’s in everything we eat, why take additional spoonfulls of it everyday?

    I’ve been using this guy’s protein powder for years. His product is great because it’s from cow’s not treated with rBGH (Recombinant Bovine Growth Hormone).

    I can’t guarantee they’re from cows ony fed grass however.
    http://www.jayrobb.com/cat_proteinWheyAll.asp

    BTW -Nice Blog, Lady PJMomma.
    Oh and thank you! :)

  10. Oh, yeah, leave a reply to Cathy and ignore my e-mail about your truck. I see how it is around HERE.

    ;o)>

    Hope you found it and/or the thief.

    String him up by the balls and take pics, would you??

  11. Having a car stolen is so……violating.
    Second only to having your house broken into.
    I hope you get it back and that it’s not thrashed.

    As for soy, it sucks that so much energy has to be put into thinking about everything we eat these days.

  12. Wow sis….too bad about your truck. What will you do? I hope you will be able to recover it and it’s not stripped. I am so sorry.

    Call me and I can tell you about the lesbian high schoolers that keep making out in the locker room…..twice now the janitor has walked in on them. It’s a great story but the details might offend your faithful bloggy friends.

  13. Oh, yeah, leave a reply to Cathy and ignore my e-mail about your truck. I see how it is around HERE.

    Shhhhh! No one knew you were special enough to have my email address. My sister doesn’t even have it.

    See how she has to bother me here?

  14. As for soy, it sucks that so much energy has to be put into thinking about everything we eat these days.

    Luckily I’ve been making most of my stuff from scratch lately so I don’t have to put too much thought into it. I know the soy stuffers haven’t gotten to it.

    *pulls out of Taco Bell parking lot*
    *devours 5 crunchy tacos*

  15. “See how she has to bother me here?”

    hmmm, and to think that I felt bad. You should check your email, maybe your truck is there?

  16. You should check your email, maybe your truck is there?
    Nope I looked, it’s not there. I’ll go look under the couch. A lot of things wind up under there.

  17. “I’ll go look under the couch. A lot of things wind up under there.”

    Yikes, be careful the “soy stuffers” have been known to hang out under there!!1!!

  18. I’m telling mom!

    And I’m giving aunt bobbie your email address and telling her and aunt jean how much you love their forwards.

  19. I saw a report about this on Dateline or the likes a few years ago, but I guess no body paid much attention to its message. I kinda did the same thing. My question is how do you explain the people of Asia not rolling over and die more often since they consume more soy than anyone? Tofu and other soy products are regulary eaten in Asian families.

  20. Tofu and other soy products are regulary eaten in Asian families

    Just How Much Soy Did Asians Eat?

    In short, not that much, and contrary to what the industry may claim soy has never been a staple in Asia. A study of the history of soy use in Asia shows that the poor used it during times of extreme food shortage, and only then the soybeans were carefully prepared (e.g. by lengthy fermentation) to destroy the soy toxins. Yes, the Asians understood soy all right!

    Many vegetarians in the USA, and Europe and Australia would think nothing of consuming 8 ounces (about 220 grams) of tofu and a couple of glasses of soy milk per day, two or three times a week. But this is well in excess of what Asians typically consume; they generally use small portions of soy to complement their meal. It should also be noted that soy is not the main source of dietary protein and that a regime of calcium-set tofu and soymilk bears little resemblance to the soy consumed traditionally in Asia.

    Perhaps the best survey of what types/quantities of soy eaten in Asia comes from data from a validated, semi quantitative food frequency questionnaire that surveyed 1242 men and 3596 women who participated in an annual health check-up program in Takayama City, Japan. This survey identified that the soy products consumed were tofu (plain, fried, deep-fried, or dried), miso, fermented soybeans, soymilk, and boiled soybeans. The estimated amount of soy protein consumed from these sources was 8.00 ± 4.95 g/day for men and 6.88 ± 4.06 g/day for women (Nagata C, Takatsuka N, Kurisu Y, Shimizu H; J Nutr 1998, 128:209-13).

    According to KC Chang, editor of Food in Chinese Culture, the total caloric intake due to soy in the Chinese diet in the 1930’s was only 1.5%, compared with 65% for pork. For more information on the traditional use of soy products, contact the Price Pottenger Nutrition Foundation.

    The chief concern we have about the consumption of large amounts of soy is that there is a risk of mega-dosing on isoflavones. If soy consumers follow the advice of Protein Technologies International (manufacturers of isolated soy protein) and consume 100 grams of soy protein per day, their daily genistein intake could easily exceed 200 milligrams per day. This level of genistein intake should definitely be avoided. For comparison, it should be noted that Japanese males consume, on average, less than 10 milligrams of genistein per day (Fukutake M, Takahashi M, Ishida K, Kawamura H, Sugimura T, Wakabayashi K; Food Chem Toxicol 1996, 34:457-61).

    Also from another site:
    All this sounds damning. Aha, say the soy advocates, but what about the Asian diet? They eat tons of soy, and get less breast and prostate cancer, osteoporosis, and heart disease than we do.

    Wrong. Asians do eat soy. However, they eat soy in small quantities, usually as a fermented condiment, and usually with an animal protein, such as fish broth, to make the soy digestible. Perhaps the most dangerous myth the soy lobby spreads about the Asian diet is that soy is a main source of protein. Soy is simply not a substitute for animal foods in traditional Asian diets. According to KC Chang, editor of Food in Chinese Culture, the total caloric intake due to soy in the Chinese diet in the 1930s was 1.5%, compared with 65% from pork.

    The soy lobby has distorted the story of the Asian diet in other ways. Asians have lower rates of osteoporosis. The soy lobby credits calcium-rich soy. But it is real foods — calcium from fish and meat broth, and Vitamin D from seafood and other animal fats — that prevent bone thinning in those cultures. Broth is the world’s oldest health food, but sadly there is no broth lobby.

    Moreover, Asians eat a very different kind of soy from Americans. In Asia it is well known that raw and unfermented soy beans are indigestible. Soy farming started around 1100 BC in China, where it was used to build soil fertility and feed animals. Soy beans were not considered fit for humans until the Chinese learned to ferment them, which makes them digestible. Asian diets now include fermented soy beans in the form of natto, miso, tamari, and tempeh.

    Soy producers want you to eat more soy — more than the Asians eat, and more than is good for you. The Japanese and Chinese eat 10 grams of soy per day — about two teaspoons. Yet a soy manufacturer recommends Americans eat ten times what the Japanese eat — 100 grams of soy protein per day. In The Soy Zone, Barry Sears recommends a daily diet of a minimum of 50 grams of soy, and up to 75 grams for women and 100 grams for men.

    It’s like red wine: a glass or two a day may be good for you; a bottle or two every day rots your liver.

  21. Interesting. What you wrote about soy being fried, fermented, etcs to go along with a meal is completely true. I’ve always thought having a dish of soy with every meal is a little much already. Anyhow, thanks for all the info. Capitalism sure can be evil sometimes.

  22. Well capitalism itself cannot be evil. It’s unscrupulous people that are the problem. :)

  23. Have you ever tried natto? That stuff is vile.

  24. It looks really nasty. It looks slimy.

  25. I’m special!!!

    It’s a great story but the details might offend your faithful bloggy friends.

    Not me. I want the details!

  26. It smells like ass and is very stringy. That slime will stretch to improbable lengths. It wasn’t up my alley.

  27. I just bought 1 lb. of ground beef 9% fat, grass fed, no hormones. It was expensive. I’m going to make some spaghetti sauce in the crockpot tonight. I really wanted to cook it yesterday but made the polynesian chicken for dinner instead.

    I’ll send you the recipe if you want. It is really yummy and I am pretty sure it’s all okay to eat. A few canned items, but I picked the organic ones for what it’s worth.

  28. You are going to notice a serious difference in the quality of beef. I’m curious to see how you like it. Sadly it’s horribly expensive. I was lucky in that a couple friends out here and I went in on a whole cow, so I have a nice freezer full of neatly wrapped white packages. (I had to buy a freezer)

    And you know I want the recipe, for the chicken AND the sauce. My kids are spaghetti freaks and it’s very difficult to find sauce that doesn’t have soybean oil in it.

    What’s really cool is that yesterday was my youngest’s second birthday and I made brownies. I had a tiny bite of it and gave the rest to my husband. It made me sick immediately. Instant sugar headache.

  29. I recently stopped drinking soymilk because I don’t think large amounts of anything is good for me. I don’t drink animal’s milk so I switch back & forth between different veggie based “milk”. I’m very fond of almond but rice & hemp isn’t too bad either.

  30. I have never had hemp. I’m very curious now about the taste. Rice tastes nummy, but really shoots my blood sugar levels through the roof. It’s like drinking a soda to me.

  31. Hemp is best flavored. Chocolate like.

  32. *shouting *

    SOY-lent Green is People !

    Nice blog, I added you to my blogroll.

  33. Nice blog, I added you to my blogroll.

    ty, beat ya! :)

  34. You are So right about too much or maybe Any form of soy being bad for Everyone. I put lots of things right back on the shelf in the store when I see a soy product in the ingredient list.
    I noticed awhile back that Kraft mayo didn’t taste quite right and noticed that it no longer had vegetable or corn oil #1 on the ingredient list…..it was F*cking SOY bean oil.
    Bastards……it changed the taste and not for the better.
    I knew they were taking the Cheap way out.
    Too much estrogen or estrogen effects are Bad for Everybody !!
    Those who want us bellying up on soy want the sissification of the whole lot of us.
    Maybe part of that “dumbing down” of the masses ?

  35. I completely agree with this. I never thought tofu was healthy. This blog entry may seem far fetched for some, but i personally don’t believe that these multi-billion dollar industries have our health in mind and the government wants to take our money. If more people eat healthy, less doctor visits, less money in the health industries pocket, less money to the fast food industry, less money to our crooked politicians.

  36. I had never given much thought to soy, until after my son was born. The hospital put him on soy formula when he was barely a day old because they decided he was allergic to milk based formula. The whole bottle vs breast thing, I won’t go into here, just suffice it to say my son would have none of that. We found out, from our naturopath, after he was a year old and being weaned off the bottle that we should never have given him soy formula. Nice, right? And at the ripe old age of 3 he was diagnosed with an allergy to soy. Thankfully at this time it’s not life threatening, but is causes him horribly uncomfortable, probably painful eczema. And I’m having a horrible time getting away from it, like you said, it’s in EVERYTHING. I have started making my own bread, just so my poor boy can have toast. He’s also allergic to milk, eggs & peanuts. And now with the info about our meat having soy because they are fed soy. YIKES! I think I’m going to have to switch him to a soy-free vegan diet. I know it would be better for me too, since I’m diabetic and have high cholesterol, but hubby is a die-hard omnivore. Maybe if I get good at fixing frugal, tasty, vegan meals, with a side of meat, I might be able to switch hubby over too.

  37. Well, I still believe myself better off drinking a glass of soy milk daily vs. the cow’s milk that cramps my intestines. Humans are the only mammals who continue to drink milk after we are weaned. Hmmmmmm . . . I am a 51yo female who has yet to experience ANY menopausal symptoms. Been drinking a cupful of flavored soymilk for years – helps the handful of daily supplements go down easier! I agree – would not give soy to an infant, nor would I give it to someone with breast cancer. Soy feeds cancer through increased levels of estrogen.

    • Well, I’m gonna stand corrected on my own comment – drinking soy is apparently not better for me and has been keeping me FAT. Yes, that’s right – I can’t lose weight in my fat, oversized 44DD’s because of the estrogen in the soy milk I’ve been consuming for 10+ years. Do you know what goes into the processing of soy beans to produce “milk?” It’s gross. Conducted a personal experiment and quit soy altogether in March 2012 (right after the above post). Also went on low carb diet (NOT low fat). Avoiding white flour & sugar. Dropped 18 pounds since May and went down one breast size. Woot! Since discontinuing soy, I have not had one menopause symptom. Off soy forever! Switched back to 1% organic cow’s milk – love the taste. Drinking one cup of milk per day with no phlegm problems or intestinal cramping. Soy is in everything – have to be diligent label reader . . .


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

